Teriyaki Salmon Fillet with Shimeiji Mushrooms

I don’t know why but I rarely go for teriyaki anything when eating out at a Japanese restaurant. I really don’t know why! I make a beeline for the sashimi table (especially when we’re doing buffet) or the ramen section but when it comes to teriyaki, I’m not so keen.

Then I tried making it at home. Whoa! It’s not bad at all! And so easy to make! (excuse my exclamations… I am really excited!) With only one extra ingredient that I had to specially get for this, it’s pretty good, if I may say so myself. ;-)

I had a special guest over to join us for dinner that night so I wanted to make something classy yet very easy so I wouldn’t have to stress. I had a few salmon fillets in the freezer (thanks Mom!) and salmon cooks in, like, what? 2 minutes? Done deal!

I used:

Salmon fillet, Garlic, Brown Sugar, Mirin, Soy Sauce
Yes, I bought mirin especially to make this. What? You’ve never done that before? Mizkan brand mirin is non alcoholic for those who are concerned.

I gave the salmon fillets a wash and patted them really really really dry with kitchen paper towels. You cannot get a good sear if the surface is at all damp. After that, the fillets were seasoned well with some salt and pepper on both sides.

To make the sauce, you basically mix up the brown sugar, mirin and soy sauce! I found my sauce a tad bit sweet so I added a little more soy to balance it out. It’s all about getting it to your preference.The sky was getting really really dark by then so yeah.

In a really hot skillet, I gave the salmon fillet a good sear. About 1 minute on both sides for medium rare to medium well-ish. 

In the same skillet, I fried up my minced garlic and shimeiji mushrooms with a pinch of salt and pepper until the mushrooms are tender but still really crunchy. That probably took me another minute or so. They were taken out and scattered onto the fillets. Meanwhile, I dumped the sauce mixture into the very same skillet (see! one pan meal… so easy and fuss-free) and let it simmer until it thickens and glistens. Pour over the fillets.

どうぞめしあがれ!

 (um yeah, I copied that off the internet. It means “enjoy your meal” :-))

A final note though is that the salmon would benefit from the salt and pepper if you let it sit for at least 30 minutes. I didn’t have the luxury of time that day so I cooked it almost immediately. The flesh was a little bland but the teriyaki sauce more than made up for it. At least that’s what I think. Not sure what our guest thought. :-D Hope he enjoyed it as much as we did.

xoxoxo, Jayne

“O man greatly beloved, fear not: peace be unto thee, be strong, yea, be strong.” (Daniel 10:19a)

Teriyaki Salmon with Shimeiji Mushrooms
sauce recipe adapted from Rasa Malaysia

serves 4

Ingredients:

4 Salmon fillets (about 100gm or 0.2lbs each)
1/2 tsp Salt & pinch of Pepper for each fillet
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 pack Shimeiji Mushrooms
2 cloves Garlic

Teriyaki Sauce
1/3 cup Mirin
2 1/2 tbsp Soy Sauce
1 tsp Brown Sugar

Salt & Pepper

  1. Wash and pat salmon fillets very dry with paper towel. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. In a small bowl, mix mirin, soy sauce and sugar. Set aside.
  3. Heat up a flat skillet or pan without any oil.
  4. *Meanwhile, rub oil on both sides of salmon fillet.
  5. Sear fillets on high heat, one minute on each side for medium rare. If your pan is small, do it in 2 batches so you don’t crowd the pan. Remove to serving platter.
  6. Reduce heat to medium high. Add a little more oil if pan is dry. Toss in garlic and stir for 20 seconds.
  7. Add in shimeiji mushrooms, a or two pinch of salt and pepper. Stirfry for about 1 minute until tender but still crunchy.
  8. Scatter cooked mushrooms over salmon fillets.
  9. In the same pan on medium high, pour in sauce and simmer for about 1-2 minutes or until thicken slightly and shimmery.
  10. Pour over fillets and mushrooms. Nom nom!

*Note: The oil is rubbed onto the fish instead of poured into the pan because in order to sear, high heat is required. That would smoke up the oil and make your kitchen smell if you either heat up the oil or pour it into a very hot pan.

