Mak Chuk (Wheat Berry Porridge)

I have a vague memory of a time when I was really young. I cannot remember exactly where it was or when but I remember that there was once upon a time in my young life when we could get hot dessert from a place near my house. I remember being to get bubur cha cha, mak chuk, leng chee kang AND century egg rice porridge from this place. I used to love it so much, even though we don’t buy them very often.

Sad thing is, I think that place is gone now (I don’t know because I can’t even remember where it is exactly). If you have no idea what bubur cha cha, mak chuk and leng chee kang is, you’re most likely not Malaysian or Singaporean. But don’t worry. There is Google. And there is this blog. :-) While I can’t introduce to you 3 childhood favourite hot desserts all in one post, let me start by making you a pot of mak chuk.

“Mak” means wheat/oats in Cantonese. “Chuk” means porridge in Cantonese as well. Put them together, you get Wheat Porridge. For me, I would call it Wheat Berry Porridge seeing as you do use whole berries in this. Over here, we get small packets of what they call “gandum”. Out of which all purpose wheat flour is made! Full circle, you see.

I had never made this at home before but I tell you, it’s so easy I think I’ll be making this a lot from now.

We need: Wheat Berry, Rock Sugar, Pandan Leaves, Water, Coconut MilkMak Chuk 1

Rinse the wheat berries until the water runs somewhat clear. Also, knot the pandan leaves.Mak Chuk 2

Toss it all into the pot with water and boil.Mak Chuk 3

Serve this with a good drizzle of coconut milk.Mak Chuk 4

I made a pot for a church meeting supper. I had no leftovers.Mak Chuk 5

Had I known it was so easy, I would have made this years ago.Mak Chuk 7

And never serve this without coconut milk. Ever!Mak Chuk 6

the nice thing about this porridge is it doesn’t go mushy because the berry skin gives a nice crunch and the flesh is chewy. 
Mak Chuk 8

There are so many hot desserts that I love. This is one that would immediately bring me back to an obscure part of my childhood which I can barely remember but would give me this strange tingly warm feeling that I can’t describe. Does anyone know what I mean?

Anyhoo, if you do try this, let me know how you like it!

xoxoxo, Jayne

“The LORD is longsuffering, and of great mercy, forgiving iniquity and transgression, and by no means clearing the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation.” (Numbers 14:18)

Line divider

Mak Chuk (Wheat Berry Porridge)
serves 8-10

Ingredients:

1 cup Wheat Berry, rinsed until water runs somewhat clear
2 blocks Rock Cane Sugar
3 strands Pandan Leaves, knotted
8 cups Water
1 cup Coconut Milk

  1. Place wheat berries, rock sugar, knotted pandan leaves & water into pot.
  2. Bring to a boil then partially cover & turn down to a simmer for 45 mins – 1 hour or until wheat berries are soft & the liquids have thickened.
  3. Serve in a bowl with a drizzle of thick coconut milk.
2 thoughts on “Mak Chuk (Wheat Berry Porridge)

  1. I’m thinking that I will never in a million years find pandan leaves. So jealous of all your wonderful produce. This dish sounds delish and totally up my alley!

    • Some US blogs mention that they are available frozen or dried in Asian markets. I grow mine at my backyard. Maybe I should do a giveaway for pandan extract. Now that’s an idea! You can omit pandan for this recipe but the coconut milk is essential! :-) Palm sugar too. Hope you will cross paths with pandan leaves some day.

Comments are closed.