Basic Couscous

There are so many types of carbs out there to mop up sauces and keep our tum-tums full. In my household, the general go-to carbs would be rice. Any day I ask hubs what would he like, the answer 97% of the time would be rice.

But you know, I am the kind that likes to change things up and make meals more interesting. I guess that says a lot about me. My husband is the faithful, consistent one and I’m… adventurous? I digress.

That brings us to couscous! (very nice transition there, Jayne). Basically, couscous is made out of the exact same durum wheat in regular pastas. I like to think of couscous as pasta beads. And because they are so very tiny, they cook at an incredible pace. No rapid boiling needed.

Let me take you through the process.

Couscous, Salt, Boiling Hot Water & Coriander (optional)
Couscous 1

You can actually pretty much just use couscous and water and call it a day but I wanted a little more flavour and fragrance in mine.

Pasta beads!

Pasta beads!

Measure our your hot hot hot water and couscous. Remember, just as rice, quinoa and whatever else grains you like to cook, ratio is key! My ratio of water to couscous is 2:1. Just like for my rice and quinoa. I seem to like that ratio a lot. Cover it well with aluminium foil or, as I did, with big plate. Leave for 5-8 minutes.Couscous 3

Just fluff up with a fork and Ta-da!Couscous 4

Instant carbs! Not like we need more but hey, if you want really quick grains to have with something, this could be the next big thing in your kitchen! Couscous 5

I eat this the way I eat rice. Couscous 6

Some people find the texture uncomfortable but I’m a textural person. And I love this! And you can change this up a million ways. Add your favourite chopped herbs/spices/seasonings. If you’re fancy pansy, saffron is traditional.

Let me know what other kinds of grains/carbs you like to serve! If I haven’t heard or tried it, I might just give it a go.

Have a great week :-)

xoxoxo, Jayne

“For even Christ pleased not Himself; but, as it is written, The reproaches of them that reproached Thee fell on Me.” (Romans 15:3)

Line divider

Basic Couscous
serves 3-4

Ingredients:

1 cup Couscous
2 cups Boiling Hot Water
1 tsp Salt
1/4 cup chopped Coriander (optional)

  1. Pour couscous into a flat based dish or pan.
  2. Add pinch of salt.*
  3. Pour in hot water. Cover with a large plate or aluminium foil. Leave for 5-8 minutes. DO NOT lift lid.
  4. Remove cover & fluff with a fork.
  5. Stir chopped coriander in & serve!

*If using woody herbs, spices, seasonings etc to flavour couscous, add now. However, if using very delicate herbs that can easily turn brown in high heat, add when done.

One thought on “Basic Couscous

  1. I love Couscous! They are so cute and so easy to prepare. I usually turn them into salads with a light dressing. :) This basic one sound perfect to pair with any dish!

Comments are closed.